Welcome!

My Cart - Subtotal: $0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Become an AQS Member!

Quilts in My Cubicle

Quilts in My Cubicle

Overall Rating
4 Review(s)

Item Number: 8269
By: Barbara Holtzman
From: American Quilter's Society (October 10, 2008)

Member Price $18.36

Regular Price $22.95

Members Save $4.59

Customer Reviews

4 Item(s)

per page
Clever ideas for mini quilts with a seasonal theme. — Review by Connie Krochmal
Overall Rating
"Quilts in My Cubicle" by Barbara Holtzman features an enchanting, pieced, seasonal wall quilt for each month. General instructions, color illustrations, and step-by-step directions for all of the techniques, including various piecing methods, are provided. The fun-filled designs feature appealing seasonal motifs such as snow for January and butterflies for May. Each design is accompanied by a list of fabrics and supplies with simple, easy-to-follow directions from beginning to end. All of these projects are suitable for beginners. There are also clever ideas for hanging quilts. Fat quarters can be used as backing for these mini quilts, which are around a foot or so square. Connie Krochmal, BellaOnline's Landscaping Editor (Posted on 10/9/09)
Add quilt-based inspiration to your cubicle — Review by James A. Cox
Overall Rating
Twelve projects for quilters who want to add quilt-based inspirations to their cubicle covers 12 months of tiny wallhangings which represents mini quilt decorations for small places. From using fat quarter blocks to choosing variegated fabric that does some of the work, this is a fine blending of color photos, patterns, and easy projects perfect for quilters seeking smaller gift-giving or decorating choices. James A. Cox, Editor-in-Chief, The Midwest Book Review, "The Bookwatch," May 2009. (Posted on 5/18/09)
I love the cubicle concept — Review by Quilter's Home Magazine
Overall Rating
The projects are basically 12-inch to 14-inch calendar blocks (representing monthly themes), finished as separate quilts that can then decorate a workplace cubicle. I do remember the days I spent working in a fabric-covered box and yep, it was big-time dreary. So, these little gems can easily brighten up a workday. I realize my larger mission in life could be accomplished by these cute works d'art. Think about it: Your co-workers pass by every day and see the regular change of quilt art on your walls. They want to know more. You offer them small packs of fabrics, have them come to a guild meeting and before you know it, the Pfaff's found a permanent home in the lunchroom. If that doesn't work, everyone will still consider you an uber-talented genius! Besides that, they are simple and fast to make. You can feel like a master quilter in a couple of weekends. It's a great way to commit to that perennial New Year's resolution to make more quilts and use up your stash (Oh, you've forgotten that resolution already?). Should you by it? Sure. Why not surround yourself with quilts at work? And even if you've got the corner office, give them as gifts to someone who doesn't. You'll get the kudos and they'll get a quilt. "Quilter's Home" magazine, April/May 2009, page 78. (Posted on 4/30/09)
Review of Quilts in My Cubicle — Review by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Barbara Holtzman was certainly thinking about making life more pleasant for anyone who works in a cubicle when she wrote her new book. "Quilts in My Cubicle" is dedicated to people who spend eight hours a day at work, or those who have limited amounts of time to devote to quilting. As a full-time employee herself, Barbara loves the creative outlet that designing and quilting provide, and her cubicle is decorated with a new little wallhanging each month.

Each of the 12 small projects in the books is challenging, fun, and can be completed in 6 to 12 hours. All range in size from 12" to 14" square--just perfect for making a small space more inviting. Every project coincides with a season or holiday appropriate for a calendar month. Instructions for freezer paper and foundation piecing, template-free sewing, mitered corners, as well as machine quilting ideas are included, along with directions on how to use fusibles and tear-away stabilizers. This book gives beginners something to show off and offers more experienced quilters ideas to use as a springboard for other creative designs. Even if you don't have a cubicle, you can make these little quilts to give as gifts, use for guild exchanges, or donate to charity. "The Quilter," May 2009, page 66. (Posted on 3/10/09)

4 Item(s)

per page

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register