Welcome!

My Cart - Subtotal: $0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Become an AQS Member!

Garden Whimsy Applique

Garden Whimsy Applique

Overall Rating
5 Review(s)

Item Number: 6904
By: Mickey Depre
From: American Quilter's Society (March 29, 2006)

Member Price $7.99

Regular Price $21.95 $9.99

Members Save $2.00

Customer Reviews

5 Item(s)

per page
Review of Garden Whimsy Applique — Review by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Twelve whimsical appliqué designs are included in this imaginative new book by award-winning quiltmaker Mickey Depre. From flowers sporting sunglasses to a lazy ant in a hammock, Mickey’s fanciful wallhangings are designed to appeal to traditional quilters and art quilters alike. Ranging in size from 16” x 18” to 31” square, the projects are featured in bold, bright colors and contain a minimal number of pieces, making them quick and easy to finish. Color patterns are provided, but must be enlarged from 200% to 400%. A great book for both novice appliquérs and seasoned pros! Review Source: "The Quilter," November 2006, page 98. (Posted on 2/21/07)
Review of Garden Whimsy Applique — Review by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Mickey Depre’s Garden Whimsy Appliqué packs in botanical representations which can be completed easily in a week’s time. Learn fabric and color combinations as you piece backgrounds and new patterns for all kinds of quilts in a gathering of tips from a winning quilt-maker. Review Source: The Midwest Book Review, Library Bookwatch Newsletter, July 2006. (Posted on 2/21/07)
Review of Garden Whimsy Applique — Review by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Garden Whimsy Appliqué by Mickey Depre from the American Quilter’s Society features all sorts of whimsical floral and garden-related motifs, such as pansies, and black-eyed Susans. This features a dozen eye-catching projects that are quick and easy to complete. For each project, there are complete, step-by-step, illustrated instructions along with pattern pieces and a list of the materials and supplies you will need. The author gives instructions for using fusible Pellon(R) interfacing, but also explains that you can use traditional finishing methods if you prefer. In the introduction, she also discusses all the basic timesaving techniques that are used. There are also instructions on how to choose appropriate colors and fabric combinations. Review Source: BellaOnline: The Voice of Women, April 2006, Connie Krochmal - www.bellaonline.com/articles (Posted on 2/21/07)
Review of Garden Whimsy Applique — Review by Anonymous
Overall Rating
You don’t need a green thumb to enjoy the dozen patterns in Mickey’s colorful and appetizing book. Tomatoes, cornstalks, flowers, bugs, and watering cans all have their own whimsical personalities. Raw-edge appliqué projects include detailed, easy-to-understand instructions. Bonus block patterns, a resource guide, and a garden appliqué gallery provide an exuberant invitation to reap some rewards and sew yourself a little garden quilt. Review Source: Penny Conyers, Quilter’s Newsletter Magazine, September 2006, page 20. (Posted on 2/21/07)
Review of Garden Whimsy Applique — Review by Lenore Guajardo
Overall Rating
Just received Mickey's first book and already I cannot wait for the next one. I am on my third leafing and reading through this book and each time I find something humorous and yet another project for me to do.

There are great hints and how-tos in Garden Whimsy and if my garden cannot look like the one in her book, then I can make my own garden whimsy for my sewing room with the patterns in this book. Kudos to Mickey DePre. (Posted on 6/14/06)

5 Item(s)

per page

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register